Kansas Lost Wages Attorneys

If you are unable to work due to a job-related injury in Kansas, you will receive a pay benefit from workers' compensation to replace lost wages. This benefit is called temporary total disability.

At the law firm of Spooner & Perkins, P.C., we represent clients throughout the Kansas City metro area and the state of Kansas who are unable to work because of a work-related injury. If you’re unsure what to do about lost wages after you are hurt on the job, we can help. Contact us to schedule a free consultation with a Kansas lawyer for lost wages and learn more about Kansas City lost wages resources.

What Is Temporary Total Disability?

This is compensation provided to you by your employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier and is intended to compensate you if you are unable to work and recovering from your job-related injury. This benefit is also available to you if your treating doctor assigns work restrictions and your employer is unable to accommodate those restrictions.

How Is My Workers' Compensation Lost Wages Benefit Calculated?

Temporary total disability (TTD) is based on two-thirds of your average weekly wage up to a certain maximum limits determined each year by the Kansas Division of Workers' Compensation.

Your average weekly wage is determined by adding your gross wages, before taxes and other deductions are taken out, for the 13-week period before your injury. To calculate your average weekly wage, add your entire earnings for the 13-week period before your injury and divide by 13. Your TTD check is 2/3 or 66.67 percent of your AWW, as shown below:

  • $650 (your average weekly wage) x .667 = $433.55 (pay from workers' compensation)

Workers' compensation temporary total disability benefits are tax-free.

What if My Employer Miscalculates My Average Weekly Wages?

It's not unusual for the workers' compensation insurance carrier to miscalculate your average weekly wages. Our lawyers offer a free consultation to review your benefit calculation and determine if you are receiving all of the pay you deserve from workers' compensation according to Kansas work injury laws.

How Long Will Workers' Compensation Pay Continue?

Your pay from workers' compensation will end:

  • When your doctor releases you to return to work.
  • When your employer offers you a light-duty work assignment that accommodates your work restrictions.

If you are offered a light-duty work assignment by your employer, you are required to take it or your workers' compensation benefits could be suspended. While you are on a light-duty assignment, you will receive your full wages rather than two-thirds of your earnings.

Contact a Kansas City Temporary Total Disability Lawyer

To talk to a Kansas workers’ compensation attorney about seeking temporary total disability benefits, please call 816-453-7764 or toll free at 1-800-603-4723. Our work injury lawyers are paid on a contingency fee basis so there is no attorney fee unless we win a settlement for you.

Servicios de traducciones disponibles.